Tenaru is proud to be a member of APCO.

The Australian Packaging Covenant Organisation (APCO) is a not for profit organisation leading the development of a circular economy for packaging in Australia. Our vision is a packaging value chain that collaborates to keep packaging materials out of landfill and retains the maximum value of the materials, energy and labour within the local economy.

Tenaru is committed to continually improving their strategies to work in line with APCOs 2025 National Packaging Target.

Click below to view our annual report and action plan;


Sikkens and Hammerite

Sikkens and Hammerite are brands of AkzoNobel, the largest decorative coatings company in the world. AkzoNobel has a strong commitment to sustainability in everything they do.

AkzoNobel has adopted a Planet Possible sustainability strategy  as a commitment to doing more with less  and creating more value from fewer resources. By working together with all our customers and partners, AkzoNobel aims to make life more liveable, healthy and inspiring.

More information of the AkzoNobel sustainability program can be found here.


Mirka is a globally expanding company with subsidiaries located in Europe, North and South America and Asia. Headquarters and production are located in Finland.

Mirka manufacturing in Jeppo, Finland is completely independent of fossil fuel; heat is provided by the renewed heating plant and power by a bioenergy plant. Mirka replaced heavy fuel oil with biogas in 2016.

Mirka’s bioenergy plant that was introduced in 2013 runs on a combination of production waste, other waste-derived fuel, and woodchips. The plant utilises production waste from Mirka, reducing the need for non-renewable energy sources. Thanks to converting production waste to energy, Mirka has also been able to close its landfill site.

Mirka’s efforts to find sustainable solutions has produced results; we have decreased our yearly carbon dioxide emissions with six thousand tons. Mirka’s plants are already compliant with new Finnish regulations concerning power and heating plants that will be in effect from 2018.